20 Books to Read in 2020 | 2020 Reading Goals

A moment of silence for me: I only read 4 out of the10 books that I wanted to read last year (though, I did start two others but DNF’d for the moment, and DNF’d one completely). But, even though I didn’t do great, when I was making my list for this year, I came up with 20 exactly, and if that wasn’t a sign I don’t know what is. So, I’ve decided to pick two a month and pick one to read depending on my mood (and, ideally, pick up both if I can). My goal: Read (and complete) at least 10 of these books. We’ll see how I do.

The following books are ordered alphabetically, and I will pick which ones to read every month randomly. (I have a little TBR jar, hehe).

1. The Power: Naomi Alderman

I know so little about this book, and I’m totally okay with it. However, my uncle (who doesn’t read much fiction) read this, loved it, and recommended it to me (so adamantly so that he e-mailed me about it immediately after he finished it). So, let’s just see how well he knows my taste.

2. Grace and Fury (Grace and Fury: 1): Tracy Banghart

This book is on this list because, I have a feeling that if I don’t “force” myself to read it, I never will. I haven’t heard anything about this book despite it being an OwlCrate pick back in 2018, so I’m a bit intrigued and a biiit worried. But, we shall see.

3. Vengeance Road (Vengeance Road: 1): Erin Bowman

This book has been sitting on my shelves for years. I picked it up at an author signing that Bowman was moderating because it sounded different to any YA out there. It still is one of the few YA Westerns that I’ve come across since then, but I’ve also found that I’m not too in love with Westerns. If I do manage to pick this up, I hope it changes my perspective.

4. Soulless (Parasol Protectorate: 1): Gail Carriger

2020 is the year of expanding my horizons, and Soulless is just that. I love urban fantasy and romance heavy fantasy, but I normally don’t gravitate towards Victorian-era stories. So this one could either be my new favorite thing, or a complete hit and miss.

5. The School for Good and Evil (The School for Good and Evil: 1): Soman Chainani

One of my goals for 202 is to read more middle grade, and this staple contemporary series is at the heart of this goal. I’ve recommended and sold this series to countless children, but haven’t read more than the first few pages myself. But, not anymore.

6. The City of Brass (The Daevabad Trilogy: 1): S.A. Chakraborty

I’ve wanted to read The City of Brass for a couple of years, but have been daunted simply because it’s an adult fantasy novel. But, since I’ve conquered that “fear” over the past few years, I think it’s finally time to read this book that I’ve been dying to dive into since 2017.

7. Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices: 1): Cassandra Clare

I’m so far behind on the Shadowhunter world, it’s not even funny. I haven’t quite decided if I’ve grown apart from Clare’s writing yet, so I’m hoping to get to Lady Midnight to finally help me decide. I’ve heard nothing but fantastic things about The Dark Artifices, so I’m going in optimistically.

 

8. A Tale of Two Cities: Charles Dickens

I tried reading Great Expectations last year, and ended up partially DNF’ing it (it was me, not the book; I’ll pick it up another time). But I’m not daunted by Dickens. Hopefully I can make it through this one this year.

9. It Devours! (Welcome to Night Vale: 2): Joseph Fink & Jeffrey Cranor

Welcome to Night Vale was the first podcast I ever listened to, and I’ve loved it since the beginning. I’ve had this book on my shelf for ages — ever since the event in NYC, actually — but keep putting it off, but no more! I remember from the event that It Devours! focuses around science and religion, so I’m so excited to read this.

(Spoiler: I read this already and really enjoyed it. 1 out of 10 down!)

10. The NightingaleKristin Hannah

It’s no secret that historical fiction and I are distant acquaintances, but I’m hoping to change that (or, finally give up the pretense for good). I’ve heard excellent things about The Nightingale, so there are few other books to help me make the decision of whether or not historical fiction is for me.

11. The Girl from Everywhere (The Girl from Everywhere: 1): Heidi Heilig

Putting The Girl from Everywhere on this list is similar to me putting Grace and Fury on this list: I’ve had it for ages and haven’t heard many people talk about it. Very few things could go wrong, in my opinion, when dealing with pirates and time travel, so I’m hope I’m right and will love this one.

12. The Phantom of the Opera: Gaston Leroux

This is me desperately trying to actually read the classics that I own. I know so very little about the plot of The Phantom of the Opera except that the show is ultra-dramatic and the guy wears a mask on his face. So, we’ll see how this goes.

13. The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastard: 1): Scott Lynch

Similarly to The City of Brass, I’ve avoided reading The Lies of Locke Lamora simply because of it’s intimidation factor. But, new year new me and all that jazz, and it’s time to jump into these dense fantasy stories that I know I’ll love once I actually give them the chance.

14. Finnikin of the Rock (Lumatere Chronicles: 1): Melina Marchetta

I feel like Marchetta’s Finnikin of the Rock is a classic of contemporary YA, just like The Hunger Games. But, unlike The Hunger Games, I missed out reading it when it was released. It is time to right that wrong.

 

15. Wild Beauty: Anna-Marie McLemore

I’ve never read an Anna-Marie McLemore book before, but this is the year that I hope to change that. I’ve heard nothing but fantastic things about their books, but I’ve always been wary since I’m not the biggest fan of magical realism. I really hope I’m wrong, so I’m cautiously optimistic.

16. Soul of the World (The Ascension Cycle: 1): David Mealing

While impatiently waiting for Winds of Winter to come out, I’ve been slowly picking up more and more epic fantasy trying to fill the void. Soul of the World is one of the first ones I picked up, but still haven’t read. It’s a chunker of a book, but hopefully the world is just what I’m looking for.

17. The City of Dreaming Books: Walter Moers (Translator: John Brownjohn)

This one is on this list purely because of the fun factor. I read most of this book over five years ago and remember loving the whimsy, but also not really understanding it. But now that I’ve read a bit more “nontraditional” fantasy, I think I’m finally ready to finish this wacky story.

18. Becoming: Michelle Obama

This might be the only nonfiction book I read all year, but, I mean, what other nonfiction book would be more worthy. Like many others, Michelle Obama is one of my idols, and I cannot wait to learn more about her.

19. Scythe (Arc of a Scythe: 1): Neal Shusterman

Now that the series is completed it’s time to join the hype, right? I’ve done everything in my power to avoid any and all spoilers about this book since it’s release because I’ve wanted to read it. And, now that all three books are out, it’ll be the perfect binge read.

20. The Martian: Andy Weir

I feel like everyone and their mother has read this book (or has seen the movie) except me. I’ve been getting into more science fiction over the past few years, and I really hope this one lives up to the hype.

11 thoughts on “20 Books to Read in 2020 | 2020 Reading Goals

  1. Pingback: March “TBR” | Monthly TBR 2020 | Journey Into the Shelves

  2. Pingback: O.W.L.s Read-a-thon TBR | Monthly TBR 2020 | Journey Into the Shelves

  3. Pingback: Medieval-a-thon TBR | Monthly TBR 2020 | Journey Into the Shelves

  4. Pingback: Make Your Myth Taker Read-a-thon & June TBR | Monthly TBR 2020 | Journey Into the Shelves

  5. Pingback: July TBR | Monthly TBR 2020 | Journey Into the Shelves

  6. Pingback: August TBR | Monthly TBR 2020 | Journey Into the Shelves

  7. Pingback: Becca’s Bookoplathon & September TBR | Monthly TBR 2020 | Journey Into the Shelves

  8. Pingback: October TBR | Monthly TBR 2020 | Journey Into the Shelves

  9. Pingback: (Rest of) December TBR | Monthly TBR 2020 | Journey Into the Shelves

Leave a comment